Governor Abbott Calls Special Election for Drew Springer’s House District

Governor Greg Abbott signed a proclamation on Monday scheduling a special election for state House District (HD) 68 on Saturday, January 23.

The district is being vacated with Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster), who was recently elected to the state Senate in a special election.

Candidates seeking to run in the special election for Springer’s seat will be required to file with the secretary of state by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, January 4.

To date, two candidates have filed campaign treasurer appointments with the Texas Ethics Commission (TEC): Cooke County Judge Jason Brinkley and Jacksboro attorney David Spiller.

On the day after Springer’s election to the Senate, Brinkley announced that he would be running for the open House seat and resigning his executive position in Cooke County.

“As a local elected official for over 10 years, I know it is vital that we give property taxpayers relief, keep businesses open and protect jobs, deliver broadband Internet to rural Texans who need equal access to health care and education, and protect water resources vital to agriculture,” said Brinkley in a press release.

Spiller, who is a long-time trustee of the Jacksboro Independent School District, announced his campaign a few days later.

“I believe in supporting law enforcement and first responders, securing our border, protecting life, safeguarding second amendment rights, sufficiently funding public schools, cutting taxes, making government more efficient, promoting economic development and opening up businesses,” stated Spiller.

Like the special election to Senate District (SD) 30 that Springer won, the special election for HD 68 will have no primaries and be open to candidates of any party, though it is probable that a GOP candidate will win.

According to an analysis of voting trends by The Texan, HD 68 is the third most Republican-leaning House district in Texas, with GOP candidates in 2016 and 2018 winning with around 85 percent of the vote.

That trend continued in the general election this year, with Springer winning reelection to the seat against Democrat Patsy Ledbetter with 85.5 percent.

If no candidate in the Jan. 23 election receives over 50 percent of the vote, the top two candidates will proceed to a special runoff election at a later date.

Early voting for the election will begin on Monday, January 11.

The winner of the election will go on to represent the district after the start of the 2021 regular legislative session, which begins on Tuesday, January 12.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

More in:State

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *